Register today and get $10 Free Credits to get started

How To Translate A Task

A "Task" is a project language that requires translating. In this section, we will show you how to translate a task. We will cover how to translate its contents, how to use and save to your Translation Memory, how to work offline by downloading your tasks' excel template and how to import offline templates. We will also show how to flag issues, add translators and send reminders and more.

If you do have any difficulties while using our site, please do not hesitate to Contact Us.

Translating Page Overview

On the "Project Settings" tab, you can change the name of your project, change the base language, add or remove project managers and more. The project settings tab is also where you need to go if you would like to completely delete your project or download a copy of the original .idml file of your project.

1) Toolbox: The toolbox on the page provides some of the tools and functions available when translating a project language. Fields that the translator does not have access to are greyed out and disabled. More information about the tools available can be found in the chapter.
2) Page Navigation: This navigation allows the translator to go from page to page or just from one page to another by using the dropdown.
3) Page Progress: It shows the progress made on this page. It gives a percentage of how many of the fields requiring translation on this page have been marked as complete.
4) Original Text: This shows the original text that requires translating.
5) Translated Text: This shows the translated version of the original text. Click on this field to translate it.
6) Edit Button: You can click the edit button on each row to go into the translate mode for that row. Please do not forget to click the save button after, to save any translations you make.
7) Mark As Complete: You need to mark each row as complete after translating it so that the project manager knows that that row has been fully translated. Marking the row as complete also updates the overall progress of the page you are on and the overall language progress.
8) Mark For Review: Tick this checkbox to mark rows that you would like to review at are later time. A review flag could also appear on a row if the original text for translation has been changed by the project manager.
9) Flag Issue: Tick this checkbox to flag an issue with the row. Rows flagged, show up in the project managers view for them to review and if required the project managers can make changes to them. Flags should be used by translators to let the project manager know there is spelling mistakes, grammar mistakes or anything else wrong with the content they are asking you to translate.

10) TM (Save To Translation Memory): The TM button saves the content you have translated to your Translation Memory so you can reuse the translation. It will allow you to save multiple variations of a translation and can be used multiple times.
11) Not for Translating: This indicates that the row does not require translating.
12) Translate Mode: This shows a row in translate mode. You can get into translate mode for a row by clicking on the edit button on the row or directly into the field that the translated text goes in.
13) Translation Memory Recommendations: When a row is in edit mode if there are options available in your translation memory, they will show underneath the translate field. You can click on any of the items in the Translation Memory Recommendations to use as your translation.
13) Delete From Translation Memory: By clicking on the small x on an item recommended from your translation memory, you can delete the saved translation permanently from your translation memory.

Progress Summary

The "Overview" section of the toolbox shows the progress of the translation task.

1) Progress: This shows your progress translating this language of your project so far.
2) Status: The status tells you the current state of the language you are translating. It could be "paused", "translating", "completed", "issue flagged" or "cancelled".
3) View Summary: By clicking on the summary icon you can toggle the progress summary view which shows you all the pages you have to translate and the progress you have made so far on each of the pages.
4) Page Progress: You can also click on any of the pages to jump directly to that page to continue working. Hovering over the page number shows you how many items are on the page and how many items you have translated already. Pages that are fully completed are shown in green.

How To Use Pre Translate

The Pre Translate button automatically translates all the text in the language you are translating with 100% matching content from your translation memory. This greatly speeds up your translation task allowing you to focus on the content you have not already translated.

How Pre Translate Works
- Pre Translate function works by going through all the rows in your project language that requires translation and if it finds 100% matching content in your translation memory, it will apply the saved translation.
- The Pre Translate function only pre translates empty fields, so if you have already put text into a field, Pre Translate will not overwrite or update it.
- If you have recently added a new translation to your Translation Memory, you can click on Pre Translate to have it applied on all the remaining matching text you have not yet translated.
- Pre Translate does not mark pre-translated rows as complete and requires you to do a review to confirm the translation is correct.
- Pre Translate is task-specific and only runs on the project language you are currently translating.

Saving All To TM (Translation Memory)

The Save All To TM (Translation Memory) button automatically saves all your completed translations to your translation memory for you to use on other projects.

How It Works
- It saves all the translation you have marked as complete to your translation memory.
- You can use it at any time and it won't cause duplicates in your translation memory.
- It only saves fields that have been marked as complete.

Working Offline (Exporting & Importing Excel Template)

You can work on your translations offline if you don't have internet or if it is more convenient for you to do so and upload your translations when you are ready.

1) Export To Excel: The export button creates an excel version of your project language which you can download to translate.
2) Import Offline Excel Template: Clicking the import button reveals the Import Translation area where you can select the updated excel file in which you have made translations.

How Importing Offline Template Works
- Imported templates are treated as masters and will replace anything already translated on the online version.
- If you do not want to overwrite the online content, leave the cell blank on the offline template.
- You can only upload the offline template on the project and the language it was downloaded from.
- If any of the rows or fields in the offline template have errors, have been deleted or do not match the original content, the upload will not be processed.
- If you are having problems uploading the template, it is possible that you have deleted or changed a field that was not meant to be changed. We recommend you download a fresh version of the offline template and copy your translations into the new template.

The Offline Excel Template
Is an offline excel version of your translation project by language.

- You must not add or delete any rows or columns in it.
- You should only enter text in the cells with a white background. Grey cells should not be edited.
- Leave cells blank if you do not wish to overwrite the online version when uploading.




© 2021 UR Computers And Mobiles Limited (UK)

Cookies

We use cookies to optimise our functionality and enhance your experience. Learn More